ISA Certified Arborist® exam practice · anywhere the exam is offered
Pass the ISA Certified Arborist exam with confidence
Sit a realistic timed mock, get an instant per-domain breakdown, and know exactly what to study before the real sitting.
Original questions written to the public ISA exam outline · Not affiliated with ISA.
- Questions
- 200
- 180 scored + 20 unscored pretest
- Options
- 4
- One correct answer
- Time
- 3.5 hrs
- 210 minutes
- Pass mark
- 76%
- Of scored questions
What is the ISA Certified Arborist® exam?
The ISA Certified Arborist credential is the International Society of Arboriculture’s core certification for tree-care professionals. It signals a working knowledge of tree biology, care, and safe work practices, and is widely recognised across the arboriculture industry.
Candidates must first meet an experience or education eligibility requirement before sitting the exam, which is a proctored, closed-book written test made up entirely of multiple-choice questions. Typical routes are three years of full-time arboriculture experience, or a degree in arboriculture, horticulture, or forestry combined with one to two years of experience — see the official program guide for current eligibility rules.
The exam itself is computer-based, delivered at Pearson VUE test centres worldwide with year-round scheduling and a score report printed on the spot as soon as you finish. Some ISA chapters also run occasional group or paper sittings; check with your chapter for current dates. The exam is administered in English in most regions.
Exam content by domain
The real exam draws from 10 content domains, each weighted by how much of the paper it accounts for.
- Tree Biology11% · ≈ 22 q
- Tree Identification and Selection9% · ≈ 18 q
- Soil Management7% · ≈ 14 q
- Installation and Establishment9% · ≈ 18 q
- Pruning14% · ≈ 28 q
- Diagnosis and Treatment9% · ≈ 18 q
- Trees and Construction9% · ≈ 18 q
- Tree Risk11% · ≈ 22 q
- Safe Work Practices15% · ≈ 30 q
- Urban Forestry6% · ≈ 12 q
How CanopyPrep works
- 1
Sign in
Sign in with e-mail or Google in a few seconds. No app to install.
- 2
Sit the mock
A real exam room UI: countdown clock, numbered navigator showing answered, unanswered, and bookmarked questions, jump anywhere, and automatic autosave.
- 3
Get your evaluation
See your result instantly on screen and by e-mail: overall mark, per-domain marks, every wrong question with the correct answer and an explanation, and a focus plan for what to study next.
Why practise with a timed mock
Arborist exam practice questions only get you so far — a Certified Arborist practice test that runs under real exam conditions is what actually builds exam-day readiness.
Learn to pace yourself
The real paper gives you 63 seconds per question on average. A timed mock trains you to keep moving instead of stalling on one hard item.
Spot your weak domains
A per-domain score breaks 200 questions down into the 10 content domains, so you know exactly which topics to restudy instead of re-reading everything.
Get comfortable in the exam room
Practising with a navigator, bookmarks, and a clock that never pauses removes the surprise of the real arborist exam — so the format itself isn’t what trips you up.
Who it’s for
CanopyPrep is built for arborist assistants, tree-care crews, and anyone preparing for the ISA Certified Arborist exam anywhere it is offered — and for anyone who learns best by rehearsing under real exam conditions rather than flipping through flashcards.
Wherever you sit, the exam is the same paper: the published content outline and the domain weights used here are identical worldwide, so a mock built to that outline prepares you for any test centre.
How CanopyPrep compares with other arborist exam prep
Prices and features below were read from each provider’s own website on 16 September 2026; they may have changed since. “Not stated” means the provider’s page did not say.
Lowest cost per full-length mock we know of
HK$50 (about US$6.4) buys a complete 200-question, 210-minute paper. The cheapest tier we found elsewhere that includes a timed 200-question mock is US$49.95 for a week.
A score report in the same shape as the real one
Your evaluation breaks the mark down across the same 10 domains printed on the Pearson VUE score report, with every wrong answer explained, so you know exactly which chapter to reopen.
Calibrated against a real paper
Every bank is blind-rated for difficulty against a recollected real sitting — mostly recall and comprehension, few scenarios — and the 63-seconds-per-question pacing matches the exam.
We refund your attempt when you show us the real result
Send the official score report within 14 days of your last full mock — pass or fail — and we refund that attempt. The scores calibrate the mock for everyone who follows.
| Provider | What you get | Price | Per timed 200-Q mock | Timed full mock | 10-domain report | Explanations | Free option |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CanopyPrep Refund of the last attempt when you send us your real score report — pass or fail. | 200-question, 210-minute mock with a 10-domain score report e-mailed to you; 600 original questions | HK$50 per attempt (≈ US$6.4) or HK$150/month unlimited (≈ US$19) | HK$50 (≈ US$6.4) | Yes | Yes | Yes | 50-question timed sample with evaluation |
| Mometrix University | Course: lessons, flashcards, 600 practice questions, 3 full-length tests | US$79.99 per month, auto-renewing | US$79.99 for the month (3 tests included) | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Free practice test on the Mometrix Academy page |
| ArboristTest.com Lists 9 domains; the current ISA outline has 10. | 1,000+ questions; the 200-question timed mock is in the 7-day and 6-week tiers | US$19.95 (48 h) / US$49.95 (7 days) / US$129.95 (6 weeks), one-off | from US$49.95 (7-day tier) | Yes | Yes | Yes | 10 free questions |
| Arborist Prep | Unlimited practice attempts, results e-mailed | US$27 per month | US$27 for the month | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | not stated |
| ISA official practice exam | 200 knowledge-check questions plus a timed 200-question practice exam, 3-year access, CEUs | Not shown without logging in to the ISA store | not stated | Yes | Not stated | Yes | none |
| Free quiz sites (Mometrix Academy, TestPrepReview, CareerEmployer, Examzify) Good for warm-up questions; none states a timed 210-minute paper with a domain score report. | Free question sets, some with ads; Examzify sells ad removal for US$2.99 | Free | — | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | yes |
Courses and study guides teach the material; CanopyPrep rehearses the exam. Most candidates do both. Prices are charged in HKD, so US dollar figures for CanopyPrep are approximate. All trademarks belong to their owners; CanopyPrep is not affiliated with ISA or any provider listed.
Pricing
Single full mock
HK$50 (≈ US$6.4) per attempt
- 200 questions
- 210 minutes
- Full evaluation e-mailed to you
- Pay per attempt, no subscription
Monthly unlimited
HK$150 (≈ US$19) / month
- Unlimited full mock exams
- Every evaluation e-mailed to you
- Cancel any time in one click
- Access continues until the end of the paid month
Sat the real exam? We refund your last attempt.
Submit a photo of your official ISA score report within 14 days of your last full mock — it doesn’t matter whether you passed or failed, both count. Once we’ve verified it by hand, we refund your last single-attempt fee in full, or 50% of your latest monthly payment if you were subscribed. We keep only the printed scores — never the photo itself long-term — to help calibrate the mock exam against the real thing.
One refund per exam sitting. The photo you upload is deleted 30 days after we review it. Not affiliated with ISA.
FAQ
Are these real exam questions?
No. Every question is an original item written to the public ISA exam content outline. Real exam items are confidential and are never reproduced here.
Is the difficulty realistic?
We calibrate against a real paper: mostly recall and comprehension questions, with a smaller share of applied scenario questions, matching the balance candidates report on the actual exam.
Can I pause the mock exam?
No, just like the real sitting the clock keeps running once you start. If you lose your connection you can resume where you left off and the clock will have kept going.
How do I pay?
Card, Google Pay, or Apple Pay via Stripe Checkout. Buy a single full mock for HK$50 (≈ US$6.4) per attempt, or subscribe to HK$150 (≈ US$19)/month for unlimited full mocks. Prices are charged in HKD; the US dollar figure is approximate.
Do you offer a Chinese version?
The mock exam is English only, matching the language of the exam in most regions; other languages may follow.
When and where is the exam held?
The ISA Certified Arborist exam is computer-based, delivered at Pearson VUE test centres worldwide with year-round scheduling. You learn whether you passed as soon as you finish, and the test centre prints a score report with your domain breakdown; ISA then posts the official result to your account within about four weeks. Some ISA chapters also run occasional group or paper sittings — check with your chapter for current dates.
How many questions do I need to get right?
ISA sets the pass mark at 76%. Taken at face value across the 180 scored questions that is about 137 correct answers, but ISA publishes only the percentage, not a raw number. The other 20 questions on the paper are unscored pretest items mixed in with the scored ones, and you cannot tell which is which — so answer all 200 as if they count.
Will I see the same questions twice?
CanopyPrep draws from a bank of 600 original questions. Each paper draws your never-seen questions first, so repeats only start once you've worked through most of the bank.
What does the monthly subscription include?
HK$150 (≈ US$19)/month gets you unlimited full mock exams for as long as your subscription is active, with every evaluation e-mailed to you. Cancel any time in one click — you keep access until the end of the period you've already paid for.
How do I cancel the subscription?
Go to Account → Manage billing → Cancel subscription. You keep unlimited access until the end of the period you've already paid for, and there are no partial refunds — except through the score-report promotion below.
How does the score-report refund work?
Sat the real ISA exam? Submit a photo of your official score report within 14 days of your last full mock — pass or fail both qualify. Once we verify it, we refund your last single-attempt fee in full, or 50% of your latest monthly payment. We keep only the printed scores (never the photo long-term) to help calibrate the mock exam.
Is there a referral programme?
Yes. Once you sign up you get a personal link. Every friend who joins through it and buys their first mock takes 25% off yours, so 4 friends make your next mock free. If you have paid us recently it comes back to your card; if not, it is held in your account and becomes a free full mock at 4. Your friend gets HK$10 off their first paper too.
Ready to see where you stand?
Start with the free sample — no card required.